top of page

Spanish Blog

Spanish Blog

¡Bienvenidos a la clase de arte! / Welcome to the art classroom!

[Sp] ¡Hola! Mi nombre es Marta y soy la profesora de español a través del arte en la escuela primaria Westgarth. Antes de empezar me gustaría contaros un poco sobre mí. Soy de Barcelona y vine a Australia hace tres años para estudiar educación, y simplemente porque me encanta éste país, su naturaleza y su gente. La primera vez que vine a Australia tenía 11 años, cuando mis padres decidieron trabajar aquí por unos pocos meses. Mientras ellos trabajaban, yo iba a un colegio de primaria de aquí Melbourne... ¡y no podía entender nada de lo que me decían! Nunca había hablado el inglés antes. Pero a medida que el tiempo pasó empecé a entender cada día un poquito más, y me enamoré del inglés (¡y de todas las lenguas en general!)

De niña, quería ser arqueóloga como Indiana Jones. Decidí estudiar lenguas antiguas en la universidad para poder leer las inscripciones de las runas antiguas. Pero mientras estaba estudiando en la universidad empecé a trabajar de monitora en una escuela primaria y descubrí mi pasión por la educación. Esto me llevó a mi carrera en educación aquí, en Melbourne, y finalmente a ésta clase. Así que creedme, aprender una lengua extranjera es posible... ¡y nunca sabes dónde te puede llevar! ¡Tengo ganas de conoceros a todos y hacer Spart (SpanishArt) juntos!

Hasta pronto!

[Eng] Hola! My name is Marta and I'm the Spanish through Art teacher at Westgarth Primary School. To start off I'd like to tell you a little bit about myself. I'm from Barcelona and I came to Australia three years ago to study teaching and simply because I love this country, its wildlife and its people. I first came to Australia when I was in grade 5 and my parents decided to work here for a short time. While they worked, I went to a primary school in Melbourne... and I could not understand a single word the teachers said to me! I had never spoken English before. But as time passed I started to understand a little bit more every day and I came to love this language (and all languages in general)!

As a kid I wanted to be an archeologist like Indiana Jones. I decided to study Ancient Greek and Latin at university so I could read inscriptions in ancient ruins. But while I was at uni I started working in after school care and discovered a passion for teaching. This led me to a teaching degree in Melbourne and, eventually, to this classroom. So take my word for it, learning a foreign language is possible... and you just never know where it may take you!

I'm looking forward to meeting all of you and doing some Spart together! (or in other words... SPanishART).

Hasta pronto!

More posts on...
No tags yet.
bottom of page